Who's who?

The "bodies of knowledge" are the people who come to share their knowledge within BOK. They learn about BOK through informal encounters and channels. Their specific, often underexposed but valuable knowledge, can potentially contribute towards the transformation of a more just society. You can find a complete list of the "bodies of knowledge" here.

Sarah Vanhee is an artist whose work has been shown locally and internationally for many years. Her indisciplinary projects try to bring radical imagination into reality, moving between civil space and the institutional arts field. She has worked in open fields, private living rooms, theaters, prisons, on public canvases, in meeting rooms, etc., with people of all backgrounds and ages. Sarah initiated BOK as a long-term, local project in an attempt to use civil space as a platform for the exchange of non-dominant, embodied knowledge.  

Flore Herman is a mediator, dramaturg and producer. After having worked for Kunstenfestivaldesarts and with performance artists Anne Thuot and Sara Sampelayo, she continues to be involved in participatory art projects that question the invisibility of certain bodies and knowledges in the Brussels public space. In her work, she likes to see socio-cultural mediation and artistic support as two ways of bringing together actors and life experiences that would not necessarily do so otherwise, and that together could contribute to more social justice.

Nadia Mharzi is a socio-anthropologist by training and passionate about new communication technologies. Engaged in the fight for more social justice, and currently active in a women’s shelter in Brussels, she has worked in the field of participatory democracy and co-directed  "Cadavre exquis", a documentary on the colonial cultural heritage in Belgium.

Nouha Mhamdi is a law and philosophy student at the Université Saint-Louis, and a member of the theater collective TransfoCollect in Schaerbeek. She is interested in the issue of access to culture and has participated, along with two other young people, in the coordination of the Kunstenfestivaldesarts' #nofilter cultural mediation project for the last three years.

Jean-Baptiste Polge acts in the shows of her friends most of the time. She also authors and directs, and is currently developing a multidisciplinary project on privileges with Céline Estenne. She is involved in queer and activist circles where she tries to invent and facilitate encounters based on mutual care and support. Today she is an artistic collaborator within bodies of knowledge.

Damla Ekin Tokel is a performer, dramaturge and performance-maker directed towards participatory and relational projects. She is developing her artistic research called SemiPrivate Performance aimed at creating a renewed sense of public space and intimacy among strangers through performative devices. She participates in projects at the crossroads of theatre and the climate crisis. She lived in community for six years, works as a social interpreter and guides intercultural and participatory walks. Today she is an artistic collaborator within bodies of knowledge.

 

Luisa Marc is in charge of production. After studying tourism and leisure management in Liège and being behind the scenes at Montreal festivals for a year, she finally discovered Brussels, its neighborhoods and its many artistic and cultural projects.

 

Cillian O'Neill for communication, tent construction and technical support.

Caravan Production supports BOK on an administrative level, and helps with international distribution. Founded in 2008, Caravan Production is an artistic accompaniment office collaborating with a range of international artists who have a connection with Brussels. These are built on a mid or long term and assuming different modalities according to the specific needs of the artists and the specificities of the accompanied projects.

Board of Managing Directors: Audrey Leboutte, Anne Watthee and Eva Wilsens.

All members of the BOK-team live in Brussels, and their stories are intricately linked to the city.

Who's who?

Les "bodies of knowledge" sont les personnes qui viennent partager leurs connaissances à BOK. Iels ont appris à connaitre BOK à travers des rencontres informelles et de différents canaux et réseaux. Leurs connaissances, spécifiques et souvent invisibilisées, peuvent potentiellement contribuer à une transformation plus juste de la société. Une liste complète de tous.tes les "bodies of knowledge" est accessible ici.

Sarah Vanhee est une artiste dont le travail a été exposé au niveau local et international pendant de nombreuses années. Ses projets interdisciplinaires tentent d'amener l'imagination radicale à la réalité, en se déplaçant entre l'espace civil et le domaine des arts institutionnels. Elle a travaillé en plein air, dans des salons privés, des théâtres, des prisons, sur des toiles publiques, dans des salles de réunion, etc., avec des personnes de tous les milieux et de tous les âges.  Sarah a lancé BOK comme un projet local à long terme, dans une tentative d'utiliser l'espace public comme une plateforme d'échange de connaissances non-dominantes et incarnées.  

Flore Herman est médiatrice, dramaturge et productrice. Après avoir travaillé au sein du Kunstenfestivaldesarts, et avec les artistes performeuses Anne Thuot et Sara Sampelayo, elle continue de s’engager aujourd’hui au sein de projets participatifs qui interrogent l’invisibilisation des corps et des savoirs dans l’espace public bruxellois. Dans le travail, elle aime croiser la médiation socio-culturelle et l’accompagnement artistique pour se faire rencontrer des acteurs et des expériences de vie qui ne le feraient pas forcément, et qui ensemble, peuvent contribuer à plus de justice sociale.

Nadia Mharzi est socio-anthropologue de formation et passionnée par les nouvelles technologies de la communication. Engagée dans la lutte pour plus de justice sociale et actuellement active au sein d’une maison d’accueil pour femmes à Bruxelles, elle a travaillé dans le domaine de la démocratie participative et co-réalisé “Cadavre exquis”, un documentaire sur l’héritage culturel colonial en Belgique.

Nouha Mhamdi est étudiante en droit et philosophie à l'Université Saint-Louis, et membre du collectif de théâtre TransfoCollect à Schaerbeek. Elle est intéressée par la question de l'accès à la culture et elle participe, avec deux autres jeunes à la coordination du projet de médiation culturelle #nofilter du Kunstenfestivaldesarts depuis trois ans.

Jean-Baptist Polge est la plupart du temps comédien·ne dans les spectacles de ses ami·e·s. Elle est également auteur·ice et metteu·r·se en scène, et développe actuellement un projet multidisciplinaire sur les privilèges avec Céline Estenne. Elle s'investit dans les milieux queers et militants où elle essaie d'inventer et de faciliter des rencontres basées sur le soin et le soutien mutuels. Aujourd’hui elle est collaboratrice artistique au sein de bodies of knowledge.

Damla Ekin Tokel est une performeuse, dramaturge et créatrice de performance dirigée vers des projets participatifs et relationnels. Elle développe sa recherche artistique appelée Performance Semi-Privée visant à créer un sens renouvelé de l’espace public et de l'intimité auprès d’inconnu.e.s  à travers des dispositifs performatifs. Elle participe à des projets au croisement du théâtre et de la crise climatique. Elle a vécu en collectivité durant six ans, travaille comme interprète sociale et mène des balades interculturelles et participatives. Aujourd’hui elle est collaboratrice artistique au sein de bodies of knowledge.

Luisa Marc est en charge de la production. Après des études en management du tourisme et des loisirs à Liège et une année à parcourir les coulisses des festivals montréalais, elle découvre enfin Bruxelles, ses quartiers et ses nombreux projets artistiques et culturels.

 

Cillian O’Neill pour la communication, construction de la tente et le suivi technique.

Caravan Production soutient BOK pour l’administration et la diffusion internationale. Fondé en 2008, Caravan Production est un bureau d’accompagnement artistique qui collabore avec un éventail d’artistes internationaux ayant un lien particulier avec Bruxelles. Ces collaborations sont pensées à moyen ou à long terme et supposent des modalités différentes selon les besoins spécifiques des artistes accompagnés et des caractéristiques de leurs projets.

Conseil d’Administration: Audrey Leboutte, Anne Watthee et Eva Wilsens.

Tous.te.s les membres de l’équipe de BOK vivent à Bruxelles et leurs histoires sont intimement liées à la ville.